Drawing and Imaging :

Week 1:

For our first class, we were asked to pick any random corner of the campus, memorize it, come back to the studio and sketch the same.

I realized that there are so many object around us that you hardly care to notice otherwise. There are so many tiny details in the space around us that we don’t pay attention to. I’ve been making a conscious effort to make a detailed observation of the spaces and objects around me.

One major issue that i faced while drawing, was that my style was very sketchy. It took me a  while to change this. But after making a conscious effort, I can now draw with bolder and more defined lines.

Week 2:

In this class, a composition of three objects was placed on the table in front of us and we were asked to sketch it.

After a while each of had to change the angle in which which we were looking at the object and sketch once again.


After this exercise, the positions of the objects were changed.


This was repeated once again.

This really helped me understand proportions a little better. It was challenging to sketch the hollow figure. But after thorough observation, I managed to sketch it.

Week 3:

This week, we started a new exercise.

First, we were shown a presentation on Gestalt Principles. We studied 5 of them, namely : Similarity, Proximity, Continuity, Closure and Figure Ground.

Then, our teacher played three different songs belonging to three different genres. With a blindfold around our eyes, we were asked to represent each of them using charcoal, while the song was playing.


I don’t think our works would have been half as expressive as they are currently if we hadn’t used the blindfold. There were about 20 people in the class listening to the exact same songs, however the way each one of us represented the song was completely different. This really helped bring out our individuality.

Week 4:

Next, with the help of a 10cm x 10cm paper cut-out we  were asked to randomly select a square in the newsprint sheets and to identify one or more principle that was evident. This exercise was repeated a few more times.

It was a little tricky to identify the different principles in each box, in the beginning.  But after studying them a bit more online, they started becoming more evident.
We continued to study Gestalt Principles this week as well.
We had to enlarge the 10 cm x 10 cm squares to 10″x 10″ squares. Here are 6 squares, derived from the original charcoal compositions, with a few  modifications made.

In the above composition, I messed up the consistency of the gray a bit.
These were painted on Cartridge Paper.

Week 5:

I modified the compositions a little. This time I painted them on Ivory Paper.

This time I tried to make the gray paint as consistent as possible.

After this exercise, I started identifying Gestalt Principles everywhere. I even identified certain Principles, on the road(a zebra crossing, dividers, etc.).

Week 6:
We continued working on this project.

Using any material of our choice, we were asked to pick any 2 compositions and then to convert them to 3D.

I used a xerox of the composition as the base just to improve my accuracy.

For the first one, I used foam of different varying thicknesses and file card paper.

Measuring the file card was extremely tedious and time consuming. It took me an entire day to get the perfect shape. I used a lot of FeviKwik.

The foam was really fun to work with. And it stuck easily.


For the second one, I used file card paper, wooden skewers and foam.

Making the curved structure was really fun. I stuck three skewers together to make one bar.

Week 7:

The following week, we were asked to refine our current models based on class feedback and come up with rough sketches for the remaining compositions.

thumb_img_2596_1024thumb_img_2597_1024thumb_img_2598_1024I decided to explore my composition based on Continuity. I worked on the same model instead of making a new one. I replaced the main foam piece with the raised cloth structure.

I was not very happy with the way my cloth structure was executed. I also feel that I should have used a thicker, sturdier cloth. So I tried making the same structure with a thicker material and it looked much neater than the previous one. I think this was because the white material was too thin and a glue started seeping through it.

Below are a few rough sketches of ideas that I had for my other models.

img_2701    img_2702   img_2703

Final Project:

The next week, we were asked to remake our 3D models using materials which were a little tricky to work with.

I decided to focus on my first composition, based on continuity, instead of the second one. I really thought I could play around quite a bit with the form.

img_2704

img_2691img_2696img_2694img_2693

I used a 10″ x 10″ sheet of ply. Next, I worked on the two blocks of wood with the ridges using a milling machine. Then, with the help of the sanding paper machine in the workshop I gave the blocks a cleaner look.

thumb_img_2592_1024

Using Araldite, I glued the pieces together and then spray painted the object a dark grey.

It was pretty tedious working on the tensile structure. It seemed like an extremely complex design in the beginning and I was very unsure about my execution. I referred to a few websites and blogs which helped me understand the structure a little better.

I found thin metal dowels at my local hardware store. It took me a while to find metal dowels which were suitable. I visited five hardware stores looking for them until I finally found them .

First, I attached the dowels using a hot glue gun. However, they were not very sturdy. But when I attached them, after drilling holes in the wood, they were strong and stable.

Then I took a small piece of stretchable cloth, and stretched it on across each dowel as I moved on. I used FeviKwik to glue the cloth on to the dowels.

Also, I decided to stick a dowel in a few ridges to make it look like an extension for the vertical dowels. However this was not executed very well and so they did not look like extensions.

 

For my second 2 1⁄2 D model, I used the Figure and Ground composition as a reference.I used a cardboard sheet as a base. Then, using a hot glue gun I attached the black pipes as well as the clear pipes.

Finally, I stuck the metal sheets, using the glue gun.I had a tough time sticking the different components.

Especially the smaller black pipes. I would like to develop this model a little bit more as I don’t think this justifies the principle of Figure and Ground. Maybe, if I had used an OHP sheet as base and run the pipes through it, the model would represent Figure and Ground and at the same time look interesting.

Reflection

 

  • All in all, it was quite an experience making this structure. In the past few weeks, I have become more observant of the space around me. I’ve started understanding things a bit better.
  •  There’s a difference now, in the way in which I look at different logos. I even identify a few Gestalt Principles in them. Sometimes its fun to look around you and try to identify different things that justify the five principles that we studied.
  • In the process of making my 2 1⁄2 D model, I got over my fear of working with wood.
  •  I’m really bad at measurement in general, but I worked on improving this skill a bit more when I was making the file card model.
  •  I realized that in the last few weeks, my painting skills have improved as well. In the beginning my paint would have a very watery consistency because of which, my work would turn out very patchy and messy. Now, I’ve figured out the right proportions of water and paint.
  • Also, in the process of gathering the different materials required for the models, I ended up visiting new hardware stores and interacting with workmen belonging to different fields.

 

 

Leave a Reply

